Find a visa Find the right visa for your needs

Education Visa Consultative Committee

Terms of reference

The Education Visa Consultative Committee (EVCC) provides a forum for the Australian Government to engage with key stakeholders to share information and discuss policy matters regarding student visas.

Role of the EVCC

The EVCC provides a forum for members to:

  • provide input and feedback on policy matters involving student visas
  • discuss emerging trends and issues in the international education sector which may impact on student visas
  • share information on operational initiatives regarding student visas.


The EVCC is chaired by the Department. It includes key Australian Government agencies with an interest in student visas, peak bodies representing the international education sector, states and territories and representatives of business and the unions.

Membership group

Below is the list of the members of the Education Visa Consultative Committee.

  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship (Chair)
  • Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIICCSRTE)
  • Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)
  • All state and territory governments
  • Australian Council for Private Education and Training (ACPET)
  • Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)
  • Australian Government Schools International (AGSI)
  • Business Council of Australia (BCA)
  • Council of International Students Australia (CISA)
  • Council of Private Higher Education (COPHE)
  • English Australia (EA)
  • International Education Association Australia (IEAA)
  • Independent Schools Council of Australia  (ISCA)
  • TAFE Directors Australia (TDA)
  • Universities Australia (UA)

Last reviewed Thursday 28 August 2014